Top Management

Executive Committee(as of October 2020)

The Executive Committee discusses important matters of management across Astellas. It is chaired by the Representative Director, President and CEO. Extended members include the officers responsible for research, development and pharmaceutical technology capabilities together with the officers responsible for each commercial region, and these members participate in any necessary discussions at the request of the chairman.

Standing Members

Representative Director, 
President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
Kenji Yasukawa, Ph.D.
Representative Director, 
Corporate Executive Vice President, 
Chief Strategy Officer (CStO) and 
Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
Naoki Okamura
Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) and 
Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer (CECO)
Fumiaki Sakurai
Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Bernhardt Zeiher, M.D.
Chief Commercial Officer (CCO) Yukio Matsui
General Counsel (GC) Catherine Levitt


Extended Members

President, Drug Discovery Research Akihiko Iwai
President, Pharmaceutical Technology Hideki Shima
President, Development Steven Benner
President, Established Markets Commercial Dirk Kosche
President, Greater China Commercial Hiroshi Hamaguchi
President, International Markets Commercial Claus Zieler
President, Japan Commercial Yasuhiro Tsutsui
President, US Commercial Percival Barretto-Ko


Group Management Structure (As of October 1, 2020)

Group Management Structure